Sweet ‘n Sour Meatballs and Crockpot Creamed Corn

19 Feb

Let me start off by saying, I’m not a cook. I bake. I like to cook, and can do a pretty good job following a recipe but I suck when it comes to just throwing things together. My husband, on the other hand, rocks at it so he usually does most of the cooking (phew!). Lately, tho, since going on mat leave I’ve been doing more cooking, mostly with recipes I find on Pinterest (damn that site is addicting!). 

However, there are a few dishes I “specialize” in, like the following: Sweet ‘n Sour Meatballs! This is actually a recipe I got from my sister, so I have no clue of the origin, but everyone I make it for LOVES it. I recently made it for my in-laws and my father-in-law loved it so much my mother-in-law got the recipe and made it again once they got home.  Let me tell you, it’s SUPER easy and with just 6 ingredients (that you probably already have on hand) it comes together pretty quickly! 

The meatballs are a nice pairing with a Crock Pot Creamed Corn recipe I copied from a Taste of Home magazine my mother-in-law subscribes to (GREAT mag,  btw!). I made it as part of our Christmas meal and it was a hit! All you need is frozen corn (recipe calls for 26oz, but I only had 1kg bag, so just used 3/4 of it), package of softened and cubed cream cheese, 1/4 butter (also softened and cubed), 1 tbsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of salt.

The beauty of crockpot dishes is – for the most part – you just toss the stuff in, turn it on and wait!  So… do it!  Throw everything into the ‘pot, turn it on low and let it sit for 3 hours.

While that’s cooking, you can get the meatballs ready!  Ingredients list for this is 1lb of hamburger, crackers (I use saltine, but have also used breadcrumbs in a pinch) and 2 eggs, 1cup ketchup, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp mustard. Note: we had company for dinner when I made this, so I made a double-batch this round, hence the 4 eggs. This was the perfect amount for 6 adults!

In a large-ish bowl, throw together the hamburger, eggs and a couple of handfuls of crushed crackers.

 In a separate bowl, mix the ketchup, brown sugar and mustard.

Add half the ketchup mixture to the hamburger and mix well.  You’ll probably want to add more crackers at this point – I usually eye-ball the amount of crackers I use. If I find it’s too wet I’ll add more crackers.  This time I went through about 1 package of saltines.

Form meatballs and place into muffin tin. I use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop out the hamburger and form into the balls, that way they’re all relatively the same size and cook evenly. Make yours as big or as small as you want, just adjust your cook time accordingly. Then take the remaining ketchup mixture and spoon over the meatballs. This gives it a yummy candied coating. Pop in the oven and bake at 350* for 45mins-1hr.

How’s the creamed corn comin? When I first made it the cream cheese was still in chunks after 3 hours – I was worried I screwed it up!  But once I stirred it everything melted together beautifully and looked delicious!!

Pull out the meatballs – OMG, so good!

Add some rice and you have one DEE-licuous meal!!  Oh, and um…pardon the horrible pictures.  I’m no food photographer 😉

If you try them, please let me know what you thought of them!!

Leave a Reply

