52-Weeks To An Organized Home

20 Feb

I don’t know about you, but seeing my house look like a disaster zone day in and day out Stresses The Crap Out Of Me. I get short-tempered, I proclaim constantly how I hate this house (we’ve been here just over 2 years now) and get downright ticked off that it can’t stay clean for more than 5 minutes. What’s up with that?! Unfortunately, moving is out of the question, so in the New Year I decided that it was time to organize (and maybe work in a little decor stuff here and there) so I can come to love this house again. I know our biggest problem is that we have no real place for things…proper storage and organization is seriously lacking in this house.

Then I found Taylor over at Home Storage Solutions 101 <insert angels singing from the Heavens here>. She has a challenge over there – 52 Weeks To An Organized Home – that I’m hoping will help with my “resolution”. Each week she gives us a new challenge. What I love about it is that it’s broken down into areas so you can concentrate on one thing at a time. Not only do I find it much less overwhelming that way, but it gives me a chance to really think about a solution rather that doing just a quick fix that won’t work a week later.

I’m hoping to document my progress here – share my befores and afters, offer some of my own tips I discover along the way and hopefully inpsire others! I have two young kids around, so I might not get everything done on time and I might skip a few things that don’t pertain to me, but as I complete things I’ll try and update this post with links to each week’s blog progress. As you can see, even though I started this during the first week of January, I’m quite a ways behind. I’ve done a lot of the stuff, just need to find time to post it! If you haven’t checked out her site, I encourage you to do so! She has a bunch of great tips and tricks, and a ton of free printables you can use!!

  • Week 1: Kitchen organization: countertops and sink
  • Week 2: Kitchen drawers and kitchen cabinet organization
  • Week 3: Organize pantry, spices and food storage areas
  • Week 4: Organizing refrigerator and freezer
  • Week 5: Organize recipes and cookbooks
  • Week 6: Create a home recycling center (plus dealing with trash)
  • Week 7: Organize coupons
  • Week 8: Healthy meal planning and creating grocery shopping list
  • Week 9: Addresses / contact information
  • Week 10: Mail
  • Week 11: Bill paying
  • Week 12: Recipts / tax documents
  • Week 13: Filing system
  • Week 14: Magazines and newspapers
  • Week 15: Email and internet passwords, manuals and warranties
  • Week 16: Home office
  • Week 17: Cleaning supplies
  • Week 18: Bathroom
  • Week 19: Medicine cabinet
  • Week 20: Entryway / mud room
  • Week 21: Living room / family room
  • Week 22: Dining room / kitchen eating area
  • Week 23: Laundry room
  • Week 24: Laundry baskets and hampers
  • Week 25: Purses / briefcases
  • Week 26: Books
  • Week 27: CDs and DVDs
  • Week 28: Photos
  • Week 29: Crafts
  • Week 30: Vehicles
  • Week 31: Pets
  • Week 32: Yard / garden
  • Week 33: Basement
  • Week 34: Attic
  • Week 35: Garage
  • Week 36: Homework area / launching pad
  • Week 37: Linen closet
  • Week 38: Master bedroom closet
  • Week 39: Seasonal clothing switch
  • Week 40: Master bedroom
  • Week 41: Jewelry / accessories
  • Week 42: Shoes
  • Week 43: Makeup / cosmetics
  • Week 44: Organizing closet space for your kids
  • Week 45: Kids’ bedroom organizing challenge
  • Week 46: Organize toys and games
  • Week 47: Create personal home inventory
  • Week 48: Storage for china, glassware and crystal
  • Week 49: Storing silver properly to inhibit tarnishing
  • Week 50: Christmas decoration storage and organization
  • Week 51: Organize wrapping paper and gift bags
  • Week 52: Keep a family calendar
Leave a Reply

